You are here:
> News
> Annual Awards Winners Announced

Annual Awards Winners Announced

Written by Alan Emerton on 12/09/2016

Pictured left to right -  jack Woodworth, Peter Staveley, James Bailey, Andrew Bishop, Mr Edward Fort OBE, Connor Bell, Jack Thomas, Alan Emerton, Austin Moore and Andrew Bryce

Fort Vale held their annual awards on Thursday and were pleased to welcome Fort Vale Founder and Chairman Mr Edward Fort who gave an inspirational speech and presented the awards to the winners.   Also in attendance were Peter Staveley and Andrew Bishop who represented current board members who started their careers as Fort Vale apprentices themselves. Andrew Bryce who heads the apprentice program and Apprentice Manager Alan Emerton and Works Manager Graham Blanchard an ex Fort Vale apprentice himself.

The worthy winners were  -  Calder Cup – 1st year apprentice of the year – Jack Thomas and Austin Moore. Both excelled at the training providers on their off the job training.

Simonstone Shield – Most Progress Award – went to James Bailey.  James has gone from strength to strength in his development within the IT department and his college tutor throughout the year has commented regularly on his commitment and ability

Robert Fort Memorial Trophy – awarded for work place performance – The winner of this award was Jack Woodworth – A very worthy winner who has performed really well within the machining area. Jack has  developed into an integral part of the machining team with a flexible approach, covering various shift patterns and generating minimal NCR’s over the last twelve months.

Chairman’s Trophy – Overall Apprentice of the Year – Connor Bell – For excellent all round performance at work, college and with his portfolio.  Connor gained distinctions in every subject in his HNC 1st year, helped his peers where required. His performance at work has been of an extremely high standard and the quality of his work is exceptional